The Healthcare Foundation of La Porte is proud to present the Tour de La Porte (TdL)! Learn more about the Healthcare Foundation of La Porte at, or contact us at 219.326.2471 or

Tour de La Porte is a Cycling, Running and Walking Event. 100% of proceeds raised are used to provide direct support to local patients with cancer.

Learn more about the Cycling Events, Running Events or Walking Events.

Over the years, the event has grown, but the mission has not changed! 100% of funds raised continue to be used for the original purpose – to provide direct support to local patients with cancer.

Our Beginning

Local cyclist Larry Noel rode in several rides across the nation to raise funds for cancer research, but he wanted to make an impact locally. After sharing his thoughts with Maria Fruth, HFL President & CEO, the idea for the Tour de La Porte was born.

The first TdL was held in 2002. At that time, TdL was a cycling event offering a range of distances up to 100 miles. In celebration of the 5th Annual Event in 2006, TdL decided to add a 5-mile walk for those who may not be cyclists. In 2008, TdL replaced the 5-mile walk with a 5K Run/Walk and incorporated timing for this event. As many participants wished to partake in both events, in 2011 TdL became a two-day event! Also in 2011, TdL added a Half Marathon Run and 10K Run in celebration of the 10th year of this amazing event. The committee decided to incorporate a Trail Run to the event in 2014, taking advantage of the great trails located in Soldiers Memorial Park – the event’s location since 2011!

Our Committee

The Healthcare Foundation of La Porte could not present this event on its own. Thank you to the dedicated committee members who help with every aspect of this event.

Kim Ramsey, Event Chairperson

Kent Arnsbarger
Debi Baughman
Melissa Beck
Byron Fitzgerald
Maria Fruth
Laurie Halaska
Shannon Hannon
Danielle Kessler
Tom Konieczny
Jim Laughlin
Jane Nelson
Amy Newman
Larry Noel
Dan Plank
Jessica Schutz
Liz Sawaya
Brendon Scott
Andy Snyder
Jeremy Sobecki
Teresa Tuholski
Jim Vanes, DDS
Shannon Walker
Emily Waters
Kathy Workman